Why Every Parents should Encourage their Kids to Read Harry Potter

The Harry Potter series basically sums up my entire child hood. My dad read the whole series to me and I read them on my own multiple times. Apart from the facts that Harry Potter has reached more people than any other book series in history and inspired an entire generation to read. I was not much of a reader as a young girl but after I read the series, it sparked my interest to read more. Harry Potter is a very relatable character for kids coming of age. Over the years he endured the usual adolescent maturation, relationship and teenage social conflicts. New research suggests that after the reading the series it has the potential to make us nicer people. For decades it has been known than an effective means of improving negative attitudes and prejudices towards people. This is because JK Rowling had many different characters in her series that all came from different backgrounds, or even different creatures for that matter. A New study published in the Journal of Applied Social Psychology found that reading the Harry Potter books in particular has similar effects  because Potter is continually in contact with stigmatized groups. The “muggles” get no resect in the wizarding  world as they lack magic ability. The “half-bloods” or “mud bloods”  where wizards and witches only descend from only one magical parent.

I believe there are many factors that shape our attitudes toward others, but research suggests that reading novels as a child and implying literary engagement with life’s social cultural and psychological complexities and can have positive impact on personality development and social skills.

Harry Potter taught me to never judge a book by its cover and accept everyone even if they are different from you. I think this was a great thing that I learned at a young age because sometimes it takes younger kids a bit while to mature. I have read the series multiple times and I pick up a new different concept every time I read them such as: light over darkness, good over evil, love conquers all and the importance of friendship and family.

The other day I walked by a book store and found the Harry potter series and it was in Spanish of 18155321_1415780198478038_1988844422_n.jpgcourse but I think I am going to start them and better my Spanish!

 

Leave a Reply

